Book Review: Just Ella

I love this book so much!  Just Ella is written by one of my favorite authors, whose novels I own almost all of and which have their very own shelf on my bookshelf-well, one of my bookshelves.  It is one of my top favorite books.  I have read this book many times, and I simply love the plot, the idea, the way it is written, the ending, just everything about it.

Just Ella is written by Margaret Peterson Haddix, who is also the author of Double Identity, Running out of Time, and one of my absolute favorite series as a child, The Shadow Children series, among others.  If you haven’t read her books, I highly recommend you do!

This book, though, is especially great.  Just Ella is a very different take on the classic Cinderella story, but don’t let that put you off!!!  I myself have read more twists on the Cinderella tale than I can count on my fingers- and probably my toes, too, for that matter!!!  This one, though, is different.  This book picks up where every other book leaves off and tells what happens in the “happily ever after”, and it may not be as happy as you expect.

Filled with romance, feminism, take charge personality, intellect, and a whole new spin on the Cinderella happily ever after, this book is a page turner and truly lovely.  I especially love the ending, because it really isn’t what you would expect.  It surprised me in many ways, and I adore a book that does that.  Just read it.  Seriously!!  It is very good.

Let me know your thoughts on Just Ella and any other books written by Haddix.  And if you enjoy this book, read Palace of Mirrors, the sequel to Just Ella.  Happy reading!!

~The Wise Girl

Leave a comment